top of page
Social Projects
Project «Ezra»

Project «Ezra» aims to support children and young people with illnesses or disabilities. For example, we finance medical aid for them and their families, including hospital beds or wheelchairs. In addition, we facilitate necessary medical treatment abroad (usually in neighboring countries).

Support can likewise include providing for basic necessities, such as supermarket vouchers. It can also include financing professional and work-related infrastructure and social integration, like purchasing a laptop computer.

 

Between 45 to 50 children and young people are recommended by our specialists to participate in this project annually. This selection group consists of representatives of our partner organization «Chesed-Rachamim» Jewish Center in Minsk, the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee («The Joint»), and a social worker from the Jewish Families Outdoor Center (also managed by «The Joint»).

 

Financial contributions also enable the chosen children and young people to be cared for at home in a familiar environment. Project Ezra is particularly critical now because, in 2009, a law was passed in Belarus requiring children with intellectual disabilities to be cared for in specialized centers. However, these centers typically lack specialized staff with experience in dealing with children with disabilities. In addition, children with severe disabilities are often not accepted.

 

Our encounters with supported children, young people, and their families deeply touch the participants and us. And they prove that even small contributions make big differences.

Two testimonials:

Emilia

Emilia

Emilia Goldmann, 7 years old, has been deaf since birth. The girl received a cochlear implant in her right ear. The task now is to teach Emilia not only to hear, but also to speak. The first implant was inserted free of charge, but the other technical consumables (batteries, etc.) must now be paid for by the family. Thanks to the support of ajs, the family can bear this financial burden, about $500 per year.


Emilia's family would like to have a second implant inserted, but would have to cover the costs themselves, approximately $30,000 (including speech processor).

 

Emilia's parents are doing everything they can to help their daughter develop and socialize. The girl is taking part in various training sessions and is beginning to talk a little, making simple sentences. The doctors hope that her speaking will improve in the future.


The Goldmann family is deeply grateful to ajs for this financial help:

"Your support will help us achieve our goal.

Emilia is already able to say simple sentences and we hope for the best."

Emilia G-2_edited.jpg
Yana
Yana Berezkina_2022 (003).jpg

Yana

Yana Berezkina (left of her twin sister), 13 years old, suffers from a pituitary gland disease. Despite a private examination in 2020, the doctors failed to diagnose the exact disease; a brain tumor was wrongly diagnosed and hastily operated on.

A difficult rehabilitation process began in 2021. Around that time, an employee of the family support program heard about Yana's fate and brought her to Chesed.

Yana’s mother says:

"Two years ago, Viktoria von Chessed came to me by chance. I am very happy that when she heard about our situation, she told me that there is a Swiss association that helps children who have experienced serious illnesses. This help is very much appreciated in our family. Above all, it is the attention that shows us that we are not left alone with our problem. In addition, thanks to this help, we can provide our daughter Yana with appropriate rehabilitation. Proper and important examinations can be carried out in a timely manner. We can also have blood tests done in private laboratories that determine her condition and changes quickly and precisely, so that we do not have to wait months for the results. We can also buy good medicine and good food for Yana."

bottom of page

top of page
Sozialprojekte
Projekt «Esra»

In diesem Projekt unterstützen wir einzelne Kinder und Jugendliche mit einer Krankheit oder Behinderung. Wir finanzieren ihnen und ihren Familien zum Beispiel medizinische Hilfsmittel wie Spitalbetten oder Rollstühle. Oder wir ermöglichen eine medizinische Behandlung im Ausland, in der Regel in angrenzenden Ländern.

Die Unterstützung kann auch Güter für den alltäglichen Grundbedarf umfassen wie zum Beispiel Supermarkt-Gutscheine. Oder wir finanzieren Infrastruktur für die berufliche und soziale Integration, zum Beispiel einen Laptop.

 

Eine Fachgruppe empfiehlt uns jährlich etwa 45 bis 50 Kinder und Jugendliche für unser Projekt. Diese Gruppe besteht aus Vertreterinnen unserer Partnerorganisation «Chesed-Rachamim» in Minsk, des «American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee» (kurz «Joint») sowie einer Sozialarbeiterin des «Jewish Families Outdoor Center» (ebenfalls von «Joint» geführt).

 

Die Unterstützungsbeiträge ermöglichen es den Kindern und Jugendlichen auch, zu Hause in gewohnter Umgebung betreut zu werden. Zwar existiert in Weissrussland seit 2009 ein Gesetz, wonach Kinder mit einer geistigen Behinderung in spezialisierten Zentren betreut werden sollen. Allerdings fehlt es in diesen Zentren sowohl an Fachpersonal wie auch an Erfahrung im Umgang mit den Kindern. Zudem werden Kinder mit einer Schwerstbehinderung oft nicht aufgenommen.

 

Unsere Begegnungen mit unterstützten Kindern und Jugendlichen und ihren Familien berühren uns immer sehr. Und sie zeigen, dass schon ein kleiner Beitrag Grosses bewirken kann.

Zwei Erfahrungsberichte:

Emilia

Emilia

Emilia Goldmann, 7 jährig, ist seit ihrer Geburt taub. Das Mädchen bekam ein Cochlea-Implantat ins rechte Ohr. Die Aufgabe ist es nun, Emilia nicht nur das Hören, sondern auch das Sprechen ­beizubringen. Das erste Implantat wurde kostenlos eingesetzt, das weitere ­technische Verbrauchsmaterial ­(Batterien, etc) muss nun aber von der Familie bezahlt werden. Dank der Unterstützung von ajs kann die Familie diese finanzielle Last tragen, ca.$500 pro Jahr.


Gerne würde Emilias Familie ein zweites ­Implantat einsetzen lassen, müsste diese Kosten aber selber übernehmen, ca.$30‘000 (mit Sprech-Prozessor).

 

Emilias Eltern tun ihr Möglichstes, damit sich ihre Tochter entwickeln und ­sozialisieren kann. Das Mädchen nimmt an verschiedenen Fortbildungsrunden teil und beginnt ein bisschen zu reden, macht einfache Sätze. Die Ärzte hoffen, dass sich das Reden in Zukunft verbessern wird.


Die Goldmann-Familie ist ajs für diese ­finanzielle Hilfe zutiefst dankbar:

«Eure Unterstützung hilft uns, unser Ziel zu ­erreichen.
Emilia ist schon fähig, einfache Sätze zu ­sagen, und wir hoffen auf das Beste»

Emilia G-2_edited.jpg
Yana
Yana Berezkina_2022 (003).jpg

Yana

Yana Berezkina (links neben ihrer Zwillingsschwester), 13-jährig, leidet an einer Hypophysenkrankheit. Trotz einer privaten Untersuchung im 2020, verfehlten die Ärzte ein genaues Krankheitsbild; es wurde fälschlicherweise ein Hirntumor diagnostiziert und dieser eilig operiert.

 

2021 begann ein schwieriger Rehabilitationsprozess. Etwa zu dieser Zeit hörte ein Mitarbeiter des «family support program» von Yanas Schicksal und brachte sie zu Chesed.

Die Mutter von Yana erzählt:

«Vor zwei Jahren ist Viktoria von Chessed zufällig auf mich ­zugekommen. Ich bin sehr froh, dass sie mir, als sie von unserer Situation erfahren hat, erzählte, dass es einen Schweizer Verein gibt, welcher Kindern, die eine schwere Erkrankungen erlebt haben, hilft. Diese Hilfe wird in unserer Familie sehr ­geschätzt. Vor allem ist es die Aufmerksamkeit, die uns zeigt, dass wir mit unserem Problem nicht alleine gelassen werden. Ausserdem können wir dank dieser Hilfe unserer Tochter Yana eine angemessene Rehabilitation zukommen lassen. Richtige und wichtige Untersuchungen können rechtzeitig durchgeführt werden. Ferner können wir Blut-Analysen in privaten Labors vornehmen lassen, die ihren Zustand und Veränderungen schnell und präzise ermitteln, so dass wir nicht monatelang auf die Ergebnisse warten müssen. Auch können wir Yana gute ­Medikamente und gutes Essen kaufen.»

bottom of page